Tags

, , , ,

File photo of Whitney Houston (© Mark J. Terrill/AP)

 Youth baseball president and coach John Kelly says he’s not racist, but he has been suspended for a season for posting a racial slur online. As Prep Rally reports, Kelly has been suspended, but not banned, from the league in Oak Lawn, Ill., for writing,:

 “I’m so sick of reading about this dumb stupid N – – – – – Whitney Houston”

on Facebook following the singer’s Feb. 11 death. When confronted about the post, Kelly responded that he isn’t a racist because he has “some amazing friends who are black.” Maybe he’s learned the error of his ways, as he’s now headed to sensitivity classes.

 Shortly after Kelly posted the comment on his Facebook feed a Westside Baseball mother saw it and reposted it on both her own Facebook feed and on the league’s Facebook page.

While the parent who first discovered Kelly’s mini-rant refused to be identified publicly, she said that she spread the president’s comment because she was worried about how he would react to African American players involved in the league.

Meanwhile, Kelly has been allowed to continue to serve on the Westside Baseball board, despite the fact that he stands by his comments about how the media and state officials have handled Houston’s death … with the exception of his use of the epithet in question. Kelly also announced that he was enrolling in sensitivity classes to try and rehabilitate himself and his image.

 “I don’t need this drama in my life. It’s going to affect me hugely, and my business,” Kelly told the Sun-Times.

“I do stand behind everything I said except the ‘n’-word. I regret using that adjective. Does that make me a racist? Are you kidding me? It was the farthest thing from my mind. I have some amazing friends who are black.”

HE MAY NOT BE RACIST BUT THAT IS THE WRONG WORD FOR ANY COACH (WHO COACHES ALL RACES) TO USE IN PUBLIC/PRIVATE AND ESPECIALLY ON FACEBOOK! IF ANY MINORITY IS PLAYING UNDER HIM, THEY HAVE A RIGHT TO BE CONCERNED!!!!!!! NOTHING GOOD TO SAY THEN SHUT THE F*CK UP!!!

